Prawn and mayyonaise sandwich

Questions
Published: 2004-09-15

Assalamualikum

I am a muslim sister who would like to ask this question.

Is the tesco company's prawn and mayyonaise sandwich halal or haram?


It contains the following ingredients:WHITE BREADWITH OATMEAL(45%) (WHEAT FLOUR;WHEAT BRAN;WHEAT PROTEIN;YEAST;SALT;VEGETABLE FAT;malt;flower;EMULSIFIERS:MONO AND DI-ACETYLTARTIC ESTERS OF MONO- AND DI-GLYCERIDES OF FATTY ACIDS, SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYATE;FLOUR TREATMENT AGENT :ASORBICACID)PRAWNS(32%)(PRAWNS SALT),MAYYONAISE(19%) (vegetable oil ; water;PASTEURISED EGG ;SPIRITVINEGAR;PASTEURISED EGG YOLK; SUGAR;SALT;DEXTROSE;STABILISERS:GUAR GUM, XANTHAN GUM;CONCENTRATED LEMON JUICE;FLAVOURING;COLOUR:PAPIRIKA EXTRACT),BUTTER.

JAZZAKALLAH FOR YOUR HELP

ASSALAMUALIKUM

Answer
Views: 4,186,682
Updated: 2004-09-15
Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta'ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected Sister or Brother
 
Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer: 
 
According to the information received from Tesco, we would say that unless they are suitable for vegetarians, refrain from them.  This is  due to the requirement by Tesco for Sandwich suppliers to make veggie sandwiches separately from meat-based.  Being that the sandwiches have prawn in the sandwiches, they would probably not be regarded as suitable for vegetarians hence the guarantee for separation from meat-based sandwiches might not be assured.  In view of the doubt, we would ask you to refrain from the sandwiches in question out of caution and choose suitable ones.  This is better for your Imaan and Taqwa.
 
Nonetheless, check whether the sandwiches in question are suitable for vegetarians.
 
Correspondence from Tesco Follows:
 
Statement advising separation with meat-based sandwiches
Further to my earlier emails, Im pleased to advise you that all our Sandwich suppliers are advised that vegetarian sandwiches must be prepared away from where the meat sandwiches are prepared.
 
I hope this reassure you.
 
Regards,  Customer Service Manager
 
Declaration of Prawn as an ingredient
Having made further enquiries, here is the information we have been provided with in relation to this sandwich, from which I hope you can make an informed decision:-
 
'This is open to interpretation, however, it's best if the customer made their own decision based on the following. Muslims eat Halal food which is all foods with the exception of the following;
 
Swine/pork and its by products
 
Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering Animals killed in the names of anyone other than Allah Alcohol and intoxicants Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals with out external ears Blood and blood by products Foods contaminated with any of the above products
 
Our prawn mayo as far as we can see does not fall into any of the above categories so therefore could be classed as halal, but it could be open to interpretation and we would not like to say for definite for fear of causing offence.
 
We cannot elaborate beyond this and hope this allows you to make an informed choice.
 
Regards,  Customer Service Manager
 
Related Reading:
 
Prawn ruling:
 
Please do tell your friends and Ulama about this site.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
Jazaakumullah and request for Du'aas
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
FoodGuide Services Staff