Kosher Gelatine

Published: 2005-05-26
Salam Alikum,
I am wondering if kosher gelatin is halal?
Thank you
Views: 4,186,893
Updated: 2005-05-26
Kosher gelatine is not necessarily Halaal.  If the kosher gelatine is from kosher fish then this would be permissible.   Jewish Rabbis issue conflicting verdicts on kosher status of gelatine however.  Some Liberal orthodox Rabbis consider pork gelatine as kosher - a ruling certainly problematic and astonishing for Muslims. 
One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume.  As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise.
More about Kosher
Please do tell your friends and Ulama about this site.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
Jazaakumullah and request for Du'aas
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
To subscribe to Foodguide updates send a blank email to:
FoodGuide Services Staff
Almighty Allah (SWT) says, "O people of Imaan! Eat of the pure things (Halaal) that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah" (Surah Baqarah 2:172)
 The Holy Qur'aan