Tics Tacs Problem and Wedding

Questions
Published: 2005-06-22
I have just come across that tic tacs lime and orange are haraam. it is my sisters wedding in afew weeks and we have used tic tacs for the weding favours. is it still possible to use them as i did not know at that time that they are haraam. there is only a few weeks to the wedding and i do not have enough time to redo them.
please let me knw soon
Answer
Views: 4,186,845
Updated: 2005-06-22
No, it would not be permissible to do so. The Tic Tacs which you mention have cochineal (E120) in the ingredients which is not permissable to eat.
It would be only permissible to consume Haraam if one feared for one's life due to starvation and hunger. Even then the Shari'ah does not allow one to enjoy Haraam in this situation, rather to eat enough to keep alive and not eat any more than that which obviously is not the case here. It is not permissable to even feed animals Haraam.
Another important point to bear in mind is that you would incur sin for all those persons who would unwittingly and unknowingly eat the Haraam tic tacs. This is not something that we should take lightly. A little expense, time and inconvenience may be incurred by yourself but would be well worth spent Insha-Allah Ta'ala.
There are numerous Qur'anic verses and Ahaadith of our beloved Rasulullah (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) emhapsising the importance of consuming only Halaal. Almighty Allah (SWT) says, "O people of Imaan! Eat of the pure things (Halaal) that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah" (Surah Baqarah 2:172)

Our Beloved Nabi (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) has said, "There will come a time upon my Ummat when people will not be concerned over what they take. It will not matter for them whether it is Haraam or Halaal" (Bukhari: Nasai).

It is further reported that, "When this time comes, then none of their Duas will be accepted" (Razeen). It is narrated in another Hadith, "It is better for you to consume sand rather than eating anything Haraam" (Ahmed). It is narrated in another Hadith, "That flesh which has grown out of Haraam food will not enter Jannah. Hell has more right to it" (Ahmad: Tirmidhi).

Haraam food has a detrimental effect on one's spiritual development. It has a direct effect on one's actions. One who consumes Haraam will not feel any enthusiasm to perform good deeds and it will lead him/her towards sinful deeds. Haraam also acts as a barrier such that duaas are not accpeted.

On the authority of Abu Huraira (R.A) who said, The Messenger of Allah (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) said, "Allah, the Almighty is pure and accepts only that which is pure. Allah has commanded the faithful to do that which he commanded the messengers, and the Almighty has said, 'O Messengers! Eat of the pure things, and do righteous actions'. And Allah the Almighty has said: "O` you who believe! Eat of the pure things wherewith we have provided you." Then he mentioned (the case of) a man who, having journeyed far, is disheveled and dusty and who spreads out his hands to the sky (saying): O' Lord! -- While his food is unlawful, his drink unlawful, and he is nourished unlawfully, so how can his supplication be answered!" (Muslim)
In another narration, it is narrated that an angel at Bayt al-Maqdis proclaims every day and night: “Whosoever consumes unlawful (haraam) food, Allah Subhanahu Ta'ala will not accept his obligatory (fard) and voluntary worship.” (See: al-Kaba’ir of Imam Dhahabi). Allah save us.
Rasulullah Sallallahu Alaihe Wasallam regarded the consumption of Haram food for du'as not being accepted.
We hope this will answer your question. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if the need arises. We would be more that happy to assist you in your enquiry.