Shellac - Halaal 28 April 2012

Questions
Published: 2009-11-19

  Assalamu 'alaikum.
Your website has listed shellac as permissible to consume. However, I have read the SANHA regard it as haram for the following reason:
-------------------------------------------------------I notice that cadbury anytime nutties coated with chocolate have shellac in their list of ingredients.
Is shellac halaal or haraam?
Answer
Shellac is a secretion of the lac insect which is related to the scale insects of the coccodea family. It is native to India and Mexico.
Whilst Shellac is generally defined as a secretion of the lac insect, our investigations have revealed that Shellac does not only comprise of the secretion but also insect residue which cannot be avoided and thus forms part of the ingredient.
SANHA has researched, and consulted with various Muftīs on the issue of Shellac for almost two years and exhausted every possible angle on this issue. The Muftīs are unanimous that Shellac is not permitted for consumption.-------------------------------------------------------
What are your comments on this?
JazakAllah Khairan,
 

Answer
Views: 3,109,125
Updated: 2012-12-24

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

On the basis of a recent Fatwaa issued by Darul Uloom Karachi and endorsed by the internationally renowned scholar, Mufti M. Taqi Usmani Saheb (DB), shellac is Halaal and hence Foodguide is retracting its previous view.

However, I understand that there is still some disagreement from other scholars and thus it is upto the individual to decide

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
Web: http://www.foodguide.org.uk
Mobiles: http://is.gd/foodguide

Please subscribe to our Foodguide Newsletter from the Web-Site.

GMWA Foodguide Disclaimer - http://www.foodguide.org.uk/relative/disclaimer.html