Asda Milk Query

Published: 2016-11-23
👆And Allah knows best Just checked on Morrison website they MILK suitable for vegetarian & Tesco I don't want to make life difficult ... but a friend mentioned to me Asda milk is haram as they put something in it to prolong shelf life so I emailed them & this is the response 👇🏻 Didn't think we had to look for vegetarian sign on MILK aswel !!'n Some Gud news Lidl Iceland Sainsbury's milk all AV suitable for vegetarian on it 😀 But best to check what u are drinking
Views: 564,757
Updated: 2016-11-23
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

The message Re:Asda milk circulated on Social Media this week has taken UK Muslims by surprise.  The message is fraudulent and the indications manifest in the poor english and doctored image. Essentially, supermarkets do not label everything which is suitable for vegetarians as vegetarian purely due to the logistical implications as well as cost.  When was the last time we saw a suitable for vegetarians logo on apples and oranges for example?    We should be wary nonetheless, but for the record, Asda milk is suitable for vegetarians as per their communication.

Before forwarding messages on Social media to all and sundry, please verify the contents as  messages like these cause considerable harm and distress.

Asda Service Team

Message from Asda:

Thanks for contacting the Service Team, and for taking the time to speak with me.

As discussed, the milk is suitable for vegetarians, however not for vegans. The milk contains 5% natural fat, which comes from the production process of the milk. No animal fat is added.
Once again, thanks for contacting me and I hope I have helped.

Kind regards

Asda Service Team

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

Please subscribe to our Foodguide Newsletter from the Web-Site.