Smokey Bacon Crisps

Questions
Published: 2003-09-27

Are the following  crisps Halaal - Smoky Bacon, Cheese and Onion and and BBQ flavour as it is written 'suitable for vegeterians'.

 
Answer
Views: 4,190,309
Updated: 2010-09-27

Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected Sister or Brother
 
We would like to thank you for the great confidence you place in us, and we implore Allah Almighty to help us all to serve His cause and render our work for His Sake. Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer: 

Crisps which are suitable for vegetarians are Halaal despte their Bacon flavouring.
Rationale:
Whilst we acknowledge that this flavour is suitable for vegetarians and Halaal, we advise Muslims not to consume a flavour (out of cautiousness) replicating the expressly forbidden -  bacon. 
 'Sausages are not exclusive to pork, for example, you can buy halaal mutton, chicken or beef sausages. For ham, pork or pepperoni, ascertain whether they are using pork or whether they are halaal substitutes but advertised as 'pork', 'ham' etc. Notwithstanding, the use of the words ham, pork and pepperoni are severely reprehensible and deplorable, to say the least. Read the definitions of these:
pork: Meat from a domestic hog or pig
Pepperoni: A pork and beef sausage (or a thin slice of this sausage)
ham: Meat cut from the thigh of a hog (usually smoked)
Makes you shudder, doesn't it? 
 
The premise for this decision is clear-cut in Shaariah as Islam requires that Muslims do not come 'near to sin' and as a result Muslims must be extremely cautious with products such as these.  Flavour technologists are very skilful in replicating flavours for their products.  For example, though Chicken flavour crisps may have not a shred of chicken in them, though it will taste much like chicken.   A Muslim would never have tasted pork, ham, bacon etc. but after tasting the Roast Bacon crisps, it is possible that a person may 'like' the taste and 'stoop' to a stage where they may like to sample the 'real thing'.  Notwithstanding, even if a person does not get to that stage, it is quite possible a person may mentally accept the product and the abhorrence of these extremely detestable substances may not command the level  of repugnance required by Shaari'aah.   May Allah save us from that.  In short, it is not a question of the crisps being vegetarian actually, but the name and taste which has a clear connection with haram and may facilitate leading to a grave sin.  This connection is very dangerous and best avoided. 
 
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Administrator