We would like to thank you for the great confidence you place in us, and we implore Allah Almighty to help us all to serve His cause and render our work for His Sake. Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer:
Beta carotene can be from animal or vegetarian sources. If packaging is labelled 'suitable for vegetarians' then the beta carotene is from vegetable sources. If the product is not suitable for vegetarians, it does not necessarily mean that if that the beta carotene is not suitable for MUSLIMS as many companies use a fish-based beta carotene. They also use bovine-based beta carotene which is not suitable. The only safe way is to look for a suitable for vegetarians label andor to ask the company the source of the beta carotene.
I hope this answers your question.
Interesting read: http://albalagh.net/halal/col1.shtml
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service. Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best