Gelatin and dhabeeh

Published: 2004-02-10
 As Salam u Alaikum,
>   You say in your website that gelatin is haram, but
> what if the gelatin is from a halal animal even then
> it is halal.  Secondly should we trust manufacturers
> of sausages that have Halal written on their
> packaging.
>   Regards
>   Faiz
Views: 4,185,546
Updated: 2004-02-10
Checked and authorised as correct by Hadhrat Maulana Mufti Abdullah Sahib on: 10 February 2004
 Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta'ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected SisterBrother
We would like to thank you for the great confidence you place in us, and we implore Allah Almighty to help us all to serve His cause and render our work for His Sake.  Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer: 
1.  If it is ascertained categorically that the gelatine is from a Dhabeeh (Halaal) animal, the it is Halaal. 
2.  If the manufacturers are reliable, trustworthy Muslims then by all means you may trust the Halal symbol.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Foodguide Services