Fish Gelatine

Questions
Published: 2004-03-09

please can you inform me is fish gelatine halal for muslims,
as lot of products contains fish gelatine.
 
umme adam
 
Answer
Views: 4,185,277
Updated: 2004-03-09

Checked and authorised as correct by Hadhrat Maulana Mufti Abdullah Sahib on: 9 March 2004

Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta'ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected SisterBrother
 
"Two carions are made Halaal for us; Fish and locust." (Mishkaat vol.2 pg.361).
Fish gelatine is perfectly permissible to consume.  It is an excellent alternative to bovineporcine based gelatine.
 
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Services