Alcohols in food - Halaal?

Questions
Published: 2004-03-25

304 QUESTION1-IF ALCOHOL IN FOOD AND DRINKS IS USED AS A CARRIER THEN IS THE FOOD OR DRINK HALAL?QUESTION2-IF ALCOHOL IS USED AS A CARRIER IN FOOD AND DRINKS,AND THE FOOD AND DRINK IS HALAL THEN WHY IS IT HALAL BECAUSE IT STILL CONTAINS ALCOHOL?PLEASE PROVIDE REFERENCE TO ANSWER JAZAKALLAH.
20/03/2004 

Answer
Views: 4,188,128
Updated: 2004-03-25
24/ March 2004: 4 Safar 1425
 
Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta'ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected Sister or Brother
 
Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer: 
Assalamu alaikum, 
 
The Foodguide follows the opinion of major contemporary Hanafi scholars including the venerable Mufti Yusuf Sacha of the UK (highly acclaimed foods expert) and Mufti Ashraf Usmani of Pakistan.   The fatwa in our times is that synthetic alcohols (and all alcohol not considered 'khamr') in foods and otherwise is pure (tahir), and permitted to use and consume on the conditions that: 
 
(a) it is not used as an intoxicant; 
(b) it is not used as intoxicants as used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little); 
(c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates; 
(d) it is not used in vain (lahw). 
Courtesy: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
 
This is the view propounded by the Foodguide service and rest assured that it is of sound Hanafi scholarship.  Nevertheless, if you are a follower of a Maz-hab (school of thought) apart from the Hanafi School or you prefer to refrain from such products then that is fine too.  We will try to facilitate such persons by indicating which products are affected on this web-site as far as possible.
 
Related Reading:
 
 
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Services